Case study

Air Canada Vacations

+$10K
in media efficiency gains starting from the first campaign
1
unified view of the performance of all campaigns
9x
more multichannel conversions from media initiatives

Find out how we did it

With Adviso, we’ve made progress in the internalization of our advertising technology while focusing on the real business challenges of our entire organization.
Véronique Hébert-Dumont
Manager, Consumer Growth and Engagement

Internalization of Google Marketing Platform advertising technology

Air Canada Vacations (ACV), a division of Air Canada dedicated to recreational travel and all-inclusive packages offered by the airline, engaged in a process of internalization of its MarTech technologies. Through their assimilation, the company was able to better control its customer data assets and advertising operations by being more efficient and attentive to the effect of a range of marketing initiatives already underway.

For the past several years, Air Canada Vacations had already been using a popular digital analytics platform: Google Marketing Platform. More specifically, it had been using the paid version of the standard Google Analytics tool, Analytics360. Currently, in order to continue the momentum it has already built, the company has also taken on GMP (Google Marketing Platform, formerly called DoubleClick) as well as Campaign Manager (CM or DCM). This ad campaign management platform was chosen for its numerous advertising and analytics technologies created by Google and to facilitate use by specialists trained in this market.

The integration of Campaign Manager into the MarTech ecosystem enabled ACV to improve the efficiency of every dollar it invested. Thus, all of the advertising media investments can now be measured through a single unbiased platform, enabling the attribution of performance depending on business needs. The overlap between reach and frequency of ads displayed on the web through media partners is now better controlled in order to avoid overexposing users to ads. The integration of this internal operational measure also enables access to results in real time and accelerates decision making related to the optimization of marketing performance.

Campaign Manager was also connected to the Google Studio platform to improve the efficiency and quality of creative delivered. Banners are now produced by internal resources through Google Studio in HTML5 and forwarded to CM, enabling better visual quality, access to a wider range of rich media formats and better reactivity if changes are needed.

Finally, by creating a naming convention and solid tagging strategy (pixel tagging) linking all of the data from Google Analytics, Google Ads and Facebook, the ACV team was able to generate reliable reports on targeted audiences and to optimize their strategies over time.

Challenges related to the project

Lack of eligible resources on the market
Limited time available
Lack of centralized performance measurements and self-evaluation of media partners

Strategies deployed by Adviso

Internalization of ad production
Decision to continue using Google in order to make use of resources that have already been trained
Centralization and internalization of performance measurements
Interesting?

Tell us about your business goals

Discover how we can help you reach your goals.

Étude de cas

Vacances Air Canada

+10K$
en gain d’efficience média dès la première campagne
1
vue unifiée de la performance de toutes les campagnes
9x
plus de conversions multicanales mesurées pour les initiatives médias

Découvrez comment nous y sommes parvenus

Avec Adviso nous avons fait des progrès dans l’internalisation de notre technologie publicitaire tout en nous concentrant sur les vrais défis d’affaires de toute l’organisation.
Véronique Hebert Dumont
Chef de service, Croissance et engagement consommateur

Internalisation de la technologie publicitaire Google Marketing Platform

Vacances Air Canada (VACV), division d’Air Canada dédiée aux voyages de plaisance et aux forfaits tout inclus offert par la compagnie aérienne, a entrepris une phase d’internalisation de ses technologies MarTech. En se les appropriant, l’entreprise se positionne afin de mieux contrôler ses actifs de données clients et ses opérations publicitaires en étant plus efficace et attentive à l’impact de ses diverses initiatives de commercialisation en cours. 

Depuis déjà quelques années, Vacances Air Canada utilise une plateforme  d’analyse numérique populaire, soit Google Marketing Platform. Plus précisément, elle fait usage de la version payante de l’outil Google Analytics standard, soit Analytics360. Actuellement, afin de continuer à surfer sur son momentum, elle s’est aussi appropriée GMP (Google Marketing Platform, anciennement DoubleClick, ainsi que Campaign Manager (CM ou DCM). Cette plateforme de diffusion publicitaire a été sélectionnée pour ses multiples technologies publicitaires et analytiques issues de Google et pour sa facilité d’utilisation pour des spécialistes formés dans ce marché.

L’intégration de Campaign Manager à l’écosystème Martech a permis à VACV d’améliorer la mesure de l’efficacité de chaque dollar investi. Ainsi, l’ensemble des investissements publicitaires médias peuvent maintenant être mesurés à partir d’une seule plateforme objective permettant l’attribution de la performance selon les besoins d’affaires. Le chevauchement de la portée et de la fréquence des publicités affichées sur le web via des partenaires médias est désormais mieux contrôlée afin d’éviter la surexposition des utilisateurs aux publicités.  L’intégration de cette mesure aux opérations internes permet également d’avoir accès aux résultats en temps réel et d’accélérer la prise de décision liée à l’optimisation de la performance marketing. 

Campaign Manager a également été lié à la plateforme Google Studio pour améliorer l’efficacité et la qualité de livraison des créatifs. Les bannières sont maintenant produites par des ressources à l’interne via Google Studio en HTML 5 et acheminées vers CM, permettant une meilleure qualité visuelle, un accès à un plus grand éventail de formats de type rich media et une meilleur réactivité en cas de changements.

Finalement, en concevant une convention de nomenclature et une stratégie de marquage (pixel tagging) solide reliant toutes les données de Google Analytics, Google Ads et Facebook, l’équipe de VACV a été en mesure de générer des rapports fiables relatifs aux audiences ciblées et de les optimiser au fur et à mesure.

Défis liés au projet

Manque de ressources qualifiées sur le marché
Temps disponible limité considérant l'ampleur du changement
Manque de mesures de performance centralisées et auto-évaluation des médias partenaires

Stratégies déployées par Adviso

Internalisation de la production des publicités
Décision de poursuivre avec Google afin de tirer parti des ressources déjà formées
Centralisation et internalisation de la mesure de performance
Intéressant?

Parlez-nous de vos objectifs d’affaires

Découvrez comment nous pouvons contribuer à l'atteinte de vos objectifs.